Camera-based evaluation of bird collisions with wind turbines

Background and motivation

As part of the energy system change, the German government is aiming to drastically accelerate the expansion of renewable energies (BMU 2010, 2004). Along with the USA, Germany plays a leading role in the wind energy sector (Hötker et al. 2013). Especially in southern Germany, renewable electricity generation cannot meet the current and forecast demand.

The reasons for this lie in numerous obstacles in the project planning of wind power plants. A major problem arises from the European protection of species, especially the prohibition of killing according to § 44 BNatSchG (German Federal Nature Conservation Act). Among other things, certain raptor species are particularly sensitive to wind turbines (Grünkorn et al. 2016, Hötker et al. 2013, Miosga et al. 2013). This is also shown by the evaluations of the Federal German Impact Victim Index, which was able to assign 37% of all findings to birds of prey (Dürr 2013 in Hötker et al. 2013). This includes numerous protected species (e.g. Annex I, EC Birds Directive) such as the Red Kite (Milvus milvus) which, due to its predominantly endemic occurrence in Europe and 50% of the breeding population (Mebs & Schmidt in Walz 2005) in the Federal Republic of Germany, requires particularly responsible management.

The exact circumstances of the numerous collisions are not yet comprehensively known (e.g. May et al. 2015). Therefore, minimum distances to eyrie sites (e.g. LAG VSW 2015), deflection areas as well as measures for temporal shutdown are used in the selection of suitable wind power sites and the subsequent approval in order to reduce the risk of collision (see e.g. LUBW 2013). Since the assessment of the "significantly increased risk of killing" is difficult to predict, no permission has been granted for a large number of planned installations in recent years, also for reasons of species protection.

Technical avoidance measures, such as automatic shutdown by pulses or the emission of acoustic warning or scaring signals triggered by monitoring devices (cameras, radars) and thus intended to prevent collisions, have so far only been investigated to a limited extent in terms of their effectiveness. Studies have been carried out in Switzerland (Aschwanden et al. 2015) and Norway (May et al. 2012), among others, but due to small samples and special natural conditions, the transferability of statements on effectiveness to Germany is limited. Therefore, these technical avoidance measures are not accepted by the authorities in Germany, as their effect has not yet been clearly proven.

In order to fill this knowledge gap with technically sound data, there is a need for a systematic determination of the effectiveness of technical avoidance measures. Tests of collision avoidance systems have so far concentrated on areas outside Bavaria and on turbine sites outside forests (Bruns et al. 2020). In the future, however, the expansion of wind energy will also be necessary for forests and will require an adapted species conservation assessment (Richarz 2014).

Target species at risk of collision: Red Kite (Photo: Christoph Moning)

Objectives

To ensure that the framework conditions for the formulation of effective avoidance and mitigation measures in the context of an immission control procedure can succeed, the following contents must be investigated in the course of the project:

1. Principles and guard rails of needs-based shutdown - evaluation of risk management measures

The priority of the project is to evaluate what camera-based collision avoidance systems must achieve in order to be recognised as effective collision avoidance systems. The research content is structured according to the relevant performance characteristics of the camera systems involved (KNE 2019; Bruns et al. 2021).

This includes the spatial and temporal coverage of the systems, their detection range as well as the detection accuracy of bird species at risk of collision, in particular red kite and black kite. For this purpose, the data from the camera systems is compared with reference data obtained through ornithological plan observations.


2. Effectiveness and efficiency of system response

To assess the performance of a technical collision avoidance system, the effectiveness (shutdown of WTs) and efficiency (number and duration of shutdowns in relation to required and non-required shutdowns) are quantitatively evaluated.

In this context, it is investigated how often and under which circumstances (e.g. rotor speed, weather, bird behaviour) dangerous flights occur in the area of the WT and how often correct or erroneous shutdown signals are sent.


3. Clarification of the significance thresholds for the killing risk of collision-prone species


Camera systems can be used for preliminary investigations in the context of immission control procedures. This has the significant advantage that the data can be directly linked to the monitoring data of the camera systems installed on the turbines. As a result, it is much easier to assess the collision risk for individuals of certain species before granting a permit. This is intended to help estimate the inevitably higher number of observations by camera systems compared to plan sightings, and also to evaluate significance levels concerning the risk of collision.

For this purpose, the basic activity patterns of the target species are investigated as a function of daytime, season and weather. As the planned wind turbines will be built and taken into operation in the second year of the project, it is possible to compare the number and circumstances of potential collision events with the occurrence of the species before the wind turbines were commissioned. Likewise, by opposing the flights before and after the commissioning of the WTs, it is possible to investigate whether avoidance behaviour occurs in the target species.


Framework conditions of the trial

In order to clarify the research questions of the project, an area with a high breeding occurrence of the target species Red Kite and Black Kite was selected. Camera-based collision avoidance systems have so far only been tested at open land sites, while there are still no comparative values for forested sites. These conditions will be fulfilled by the Fuchstal turbine site.

In the area of the planned wind turbines, two camera systems from the manufacturer Identiflight will be tried out, starting in the summer of 2022. These are installed on towers at a height of 40m to enable an overview of the forest site.

Trained observers will be used for the comparative studies. Flying objects are classified and identified through ornithological observations. The observation is limited to random samples and takes place in regular intervals over a period of 4 growing seasons (2022-2025).



Camera tower with Identiflight anti-collision system
Birdwatching tower in the forest area near Fuchstal

Project lead


Project execution

Project duration

2022-02-15 - 2026-12-31

Project funding

Kameragestützte Evaluierung von Vogelkollisionen an Windenergieanlagen

Hintergrund und Motivation

Im Rahmen der Energiewende strebt die Bundesregierung Deutschland den drastisch beschleunigten Ausbau regenerativer Energien an (BMU 2010, 2004). Deutschland nimmt zusammen mit den USA im Windenergiesektor eine Spitzenrolle ein (Hötker er al. 2013). Vor allem in Süddeutschland kann die regenerative Stromerzeugung der jetzigen und prognostizierten Nachfrage nicht gerecht werden.

Gründe hierfür liegen in zahlreichen Hindernissen bei der Projektierung von Windkraftanalagen. Eine große Problemstellung ergibt sich durch den europäischen Artenschutz und hierbei vor allem das Tötungsverbot nach § 44 BNatSchG. Unter anderem weisen bestimmte Greifvogelarten eine besonders hohe Empfindlichkeit gegenüber Windkraftanlagen auf (Grünkorn et al. 2016, Hötker et al. 2013, Miosga et al. 2013). Dies zeigen auch die Auswertungen der bundesdeutschen Schlagopferfundkartei, die 37% alle Funde den Greifvögeln zuordnen konnten (Dürr 2013 in Hötker et al. 2013). Darunter fallen auch zahlreiche geschützte Arten (z.B. Anhang I, EG-Vogelschutzrichtlinie) wie z.B. der Rotmilan (Milvus milvus) der durch sein überwiegend endemisches Vorkommen in Europa und 50% des Brutbestandes (Mebs & Schmidt in Walz 2005) in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland einen besonders verantwortungsvollen Umgang fordert.

Die genauen Umstände der zahlreichen Kollisionen sind bisher nicht umfänglich bekannt (u.a. May et al. 2015), bei der Auswahl geeigneter Windkraftstandorte und der anschließenden Genehmigung werden daher bisher zum Beispiel Mindestabstandsflächen zu Horststandorten (z.B. LAG VSW 2015), Ablenkflächen sowie Maßnahmen zur zeitlichen Abschaltung herangezogen, um ein Kollisionsrisiko zu vermindern (siehe u.a. LUBW 2013). Da die Beurteilung des „signifikant erhöhten Tötungsrisikos“ schwierig vorherzusagen ist, wurde in den letzten Jahren bei einer Vielzahl von geplanten Anlagen auch aus artenschutzrechtlichen Gründen keine Genehmigung erteilt.

Technische Vermeidungsmaßnahmen, wie das automatische Abschalten durch Impulse oder das Ausstoßen von akustischen Warn- bzw. Vergrämungssignalen, die von Überwachungsgeräten (Kameras, Radargeräte) ausgelöst werden und somit Kollisionen verhindern sollen, sind auf ihre Wirksamkeit bisher nur in begrenzten Umfang untersucht. Studien fanden unter anderem in der Schweiz (Aschwanden et al. 2015) und in Norwegen (May et al. 2012) statt, durch geringe Stichproben und besondere naturräumliche Gegebenheiten ergibt sich für Deutschland jedoch nur eine geringe Übertragbarkeit der Aussagen zur Wirksamkeit. Daher werden diese technischen Vermeidungsmaßnahmen behördlicherseits hierzulande nicht akzeptiert, da ihre Wirkung bisher nicht eindeutig belegt werden konnte.

Um diese Wissenslücke mit fachlich fundierten Daten füllen zu können, ergibt sich der Bedarf an einer systematischen Ermittlung der Effektivität technischer Vermeidungsmaßnahmen. Erprobungen von Kollisionsvermeidungssystemen haben sich bislang auf den außerbayerischen Raum und auf Anlagenstandorte außerhalb von Wälder konzentriert (Bruns et al. 2020). Der Ausbau der Windenergie ist perspektivisch jedoch zumindest auch in Wäldern erforderlich und bedarf einer angepassten artenschutzrechtlichen Beurteilung (Richarz 2014).

Rotmilan cm 2

Kollisionsgefährdete Zielart: Rotmilan (Foto: Christoph Moning)

Zielsetzungen

Damit die Rahmenbedingungen für die Formulierung wirksamen Vermeidungs- und Minderungsmaßnahme im Rahmen eines immissionsschutzrechtlichen Verfahrens gelingen kann, müssen im Rahmen des Projektes folgende Inhalte untersucht werden:

1. Prinzipien und Leitplanken bedarfsgerechter Abschaltung – Evaluierung von Risiko-Managementmaßnahmen

Prioritär soll in dem Projekt evaluiert werden, was kamerabasierte Kollisionsvermeidungssysteme leisten müssen, damit sie als wirksame Kollisionsvermeidungssysteme Anerkennung finden können. Dabei gliedern sich die Forschungsinhalte gemäß den relevanten Leistungsmerkmalen beteiligter Kamerasysteme (KNE 2019; Bruns et al. 2021).

Dies umfasst die räumliche und zeitliche Abdeckung der Systeme, ihre Erfassungsreichweite sowie die Genauigkeit der Erfassung kollisionsgefährdeter Vogelarten, insbesondere Rotmilan und Schwarzmilan. Dafür werden die Daten der Kamerasysteme mit Referenzdaten verglichen, die durch ornithologische Planbeobachtungen ermittelt werden.


2. Wirksamkeit und Effizienz der Systemreaktion

Zur Beurteilung der Leistungsfähigkeit eines technischen Kollisionsvermeidungssystems wird die Wirksamkeit (Abschaltung der WEA) und Effizienz (Anzahl und Dauer der Abschaltung im Verhältnis von erforderlichen und nicht erforderlichen Abschaltungen) quantitativ bewertet.

In diesem Zusammenhang wird untersucht, wie oft und unter welchen Umständen (z.B. Rotorgeschwindigkeit, Witterung, Verhalten der Vögel) gefährliche Flüge im Bereich der WEA auftreten und wie häufig korrekte oder irrtümliche Abschaltsignalen gesendet werden.


3. Klärung der Signifikanzschwellen für das Tötungsrisiko kollisionsgefährdeter Arten

Kamerasysteme können für Voruntersuchungen im Rahmen immissionsschutzrechtlicher Verfahren zur Anwendung kommen. Dies hat den entscheidenden Vorteil, dass die Daten unmittelbar mit den Monitoringdaten der an den Anlagen installierten Kamerasysteme verglichen werden können. In der Folge lässt sich ein Kollisionsrisiko für Individuen einzelner Arten wesentlich leichter im Vorfeld einer Genehmigung abschätzen. Dies soll helfen, die zwangsläufig höhere Zahl von Beobachtungen durch Kamerasysteme im Vergleich zu Planbeobachtungen einschätzen zu lernen und auch Signifikanzniveaus hinsichtlich die Kollisionsrisikos abzuschätzen.

Hierzu werden die Grundaktivitätsmuster der Zielarten in Abhängigkeit von Tageszeit, Jahreszeit und Witterung untersucht. Da die geplanten Windenergieanlagen im zweiten Projektjahr gebaut und in Betrieb genommen werden, ist es möglich die Anzahl und Umstände möglicher Kollisionsereignisse mit dem Auftreten der Arten vor Inbetriebnahme der WEA zu vergleichen. Ebenso kann durch der Vergleich der Flüge vor und nach Inbetriebnahme der WEA untersucht werden, ob es bei den Zielarten zu Meideverhalten kommt.


Rahmenbedingungen der Erprobung

Um die Untersuchungsfragen des Projektes klären zu können, wurde ein Gebiet mit hohem Brutvorkommen der Zielarten Rotmilan und Schwarzmilan ausgewählt. Kamerabasierte Kollisionsvermeidungssysteme sind bislang nur an Offenlandstandorten erprobt worden, während für bewaldete Standorte noch Vergleichswerte fehlen. Diese Bedingungen werden durch den Anlagenstandort Fuchstal erfüllt.

Im Bereich der geplanten WEA werden ab Sommer 2022 zwei Kamerasysteme des Herstellers Identiflight getestet. Diese sind auf Türmen in 40m Höhe installiert um den Waldstandort überblicken zu können.

Für die Vergleichsuntersuchungen werden geschulte Beobachter eingesetzt. Durch ornithologische Beobachtungen werden Flugobjekte klassifiziert und identifiziert. Die Beobachtung ist auf Stichproben begrenzt und erfolgt in regelmäßig über einen Zeitraum von 4 Vegetationsperioden (2022-2025).



Idf ausschnitt 2

Kameraturm mit Antikollisionssystem Identiflight

Signal 2022 07 15 16 10 16 898 1

Vogelbeobachtungsturm im Waldgebiet bei Fuchstal


Projektleitung


Projektbearbeitung

Projektdauer

15.02.2022 - 31.12.2026

Projektförderung